Show/hide menu
Contact Us Rowing Club Grange Theatre School Blazer

Meet the Senior School Team

Mrs Debbie Leonard
MEd Birmingham

“It is my very great pleasure to introduce you to The Grange through our website.

I hope what you see, watch and read will communicate clearly much of the vibrant, happy and friendly atmosphere of the school.”

Deputy Head
Mr R Oakes
BA Edge Hill University


Deputy Head
Mr A Crook
MA MA.Phil Oxford


Director of Finance and Operations
Debbie Torjussen

Assistant Head
Heather Eaton


Assistant Head
Sixth Form
Jamie Walker

Art & Technology

Mr D Kereszteny-Lewis, BA Manchester, (Director of Art and Design and Head of Art)

Miss B Picken, BA Loughborough

Miss A Brace, BA University of Bolton

Mrs G Naish, BA Plymouth University

Mrs C Smith, BA Nottingham Trent

Mr P McAleny, BA Sheffield, (Head of Graphic Design)

Mrs N Beardsall, BA University of Central England

Mrs V Farrell, BA Liverpool John Moores, MA Edge Hill University and Chester University

Mrs J Breton, B.Ed Trinity College, Ireland (Head of Food and Nutrition)

Mrs C Moore, BSc Cardiff

Mr A Masters, BA Birmingham, (Director of E-Learning and IT)

Mr R Higgins, MSc, UCL, (Head of Computer Science)

Miss G Swift, BSc Edge Hill University


Miss J Stockton, BA Lancaster, (Head of English)

Mr H Kelly, MA Glasgow

Mrs H Chaplain, BA, MA Oxford

Mrs H Flynn, BA University of Exeter

Mrs M Kaipainen, MA Nipissing, Canada

Ms P McKeown, MA Sheffield

Mrs C Hughes, BA Oxford Brooks


Mr P Challinor, BA Liverpool, (Head of Classics)

Mrs J Costa-Veysey, BA Open University, MA University College London

Mr W D Morrison, BA Liverpool, (Head of Economics & Business Studies)

Mrs S Brunt, BA Sheffield University, MBA Keele University

Mr J Walker, BSc Salford

Mr J M Pearson, BA Keele, (Head of Geography)

Mrs B A Broderick, BSc Leeds (Head of Outdoor Pursuits)

Mrs H Eaton, MA Oxford,

Mr S Kenyon, BSc Hull

Miss S Parry, BSc Cardiff

Mr R K Robson, BA Newcastle upon Tyne, Head of History

Mr A Crook, MA M.Phil Oxford

Mr D W Jones, MA Oxford, MA London

Mrs P Allison, BA Cambridge University

Mr A Boardman, MA Durham

Mrs L Ahern, BA Leeds, MA Edge Hill, (Head of Politics)

Mrs S Hoyle, BA MMU, MA Liverpool Hope University

Miss L Davenport, MA Edinburgh

Miss L Gardiner, MA Liverpool (Head of Religious Studies and Philosophy)


Mrs C Hill, MSc Oxford, (Head of Mathematics)

Miss K Huntriss, BA Lancaster

Mr M Lambert, BSc York

Mrs F Livesey, BSc Bristol

Mr A Lumley, BSc Leeds

Miss G Lewis, BSc UMIST

Mrs J Thayer, BSc Exeter, MSc Cranfield

Mrs Riddell , BSc Warwick

Mr A Smith, BSc Salford


Mr A Milne, BSc, MSc, MI Biol, FI Biol, Manchester, (Director of Science and Head of Biology)

Mrs A Dostalova, BSc University of Wales

Mrs J Oakes, BSc Leeds

Mrs J Masters, BSc York

Mr J Taylor, BSc Leeds

Mr S Taylor (Fixed Term), BSc Liverpool John Moores

Miss A Jackson, BSc Manchester University, (Head of Chemistry)

Mrs F Dunn, BSc Leeds

Dr S Rigby, BSc, MA, PHd Queen's University Belfast

Dr S Wharton, PHD, MChem Edinburgh

Mr N Grisedale,MSc Liverpool (Head of Physics)

Mr S Petts, MA Trinity College, Oxford

Miss M Wright, MSc, University of Western Ontario

Mrs S Thornes, BSc Leeds

Mrs H Horsley, BSc Manchester

Performing Arts

Mrs J Bloor, BA Lancaster, (Director of Performing Arts and Head of Speech & Drama)

Mrs L Sunners, BA Chester

Mrs J Hardy-Kinsella, BA Sheffield

Mrs K M Tomlin, BA Chester

Mr M Greenwood, BA, MA Durham (Director of Music)

Mr B K Madden, BA Durham

Mr S Williams, BSc University of Chester (Director of Sport and Development)

Miss H R Lawson, BA SGIHE Cardiff,

Miss J Fowler, BSc Birmingham University

Mr N Cusick, BSc Sheffield Hallam

Mr N Bradshaw, BSc

Mr J Carew, Head of Rowing

Mr B King, Lead Rowing Coach

Modern Languages

Mr S Howells, BA University of Durham, (Head of French)

Mrs E Moore, BA St. Johns College, Oxford

Mrs V Kereszteny-Lewis, BA St Hilda's College, Oxford, (Head of German)

Mrs H Hackett, BA London, MSc Loughborough

Ms N Benzerfa, MA Liverpool John Moores, (Head of Spanish)

Mrs K Osorio, BA Newcastle,

Mr W Bowden, BA, MA Durham

Peripatetic Staff

Mr A J Millinchip, MA Keble College, Oxford, FRCO (CHM), ATCL (Director of Music)

Mr B K Madden, BA Durham – Cello & Piano

Mrs B Elsby BMus MMus RNCM - Cello

Mrs A Barnett, BMus, LRAM, PGDIP(RAM) – Clarinet & Saxophone

Mrs N Boardman, GRNCM

Mrs M Bushnell-Wye, ARCM, LGSM, GRSM(Hons) Clarinet – Saxophone

Mr C Gandee, ARCM, LLCM, (TD), FFLCM – Brass

Mrs L Turner, BMus, MMus, (Perf) RNCM

Mrs S Hoffman, B Mus (Hons), PGDIP (RNCM) – Flute

Mr G Hogan, BA, LRAM, LGSM, LLCM Keyboard – Piano

Ms R Holt, GMus RNCM, PPRNCM – Flute

Mrs C Hughes, GNSM, ARCM – Piano

Mr M Jackson, Graduate Diploma in Jazz & Cont Music – Guitar

Miss P MacMillan BMus, PGDipRNCM, ALCM(TD), Percussion & Drum Kit

Mrs A Powell, BMus, PGDipRNCM, PPRNCM (Oboe)

Mr S W Watkiss, CT ABRSM – Guitar

Miss S Wilkes, G Mus RNCM (Hons) – Singing

Heads of Year

Mrs F Dunn (Year 7)

Mrs L Davenport (Year 8)

Mrs H Horsley (Year 9)

Mrs H Hackett (Year 10)

Mrs H Eaton/ Mr A Lumley (Year 11) 

Mr J Walker Assistant Head (Sixth Form)

Mrs S Davenport (Assistant Head of Sixth Form)

Mr M Pearson (Assistant Head of Sixth Form)

Heads of House

Mr N Cusick (House Convener)

Mr A Boardman (Bollin House)

Mr S Kenyon (Dane House)

Mr R Robson (Gowy House)

Mr M Lambert (Weaver House)

Support Staff

Senior Support Team

Mrs D Torjussen- Director of Finance and Operations, BA Eng, ACA

Mrs L Foxley, BSc, ACA – Finance Bursar

Mr C Lupton - Head of Estates

Mr B Moore - Technical Manager

Mrs J Ward, BSc – PA to the Head and Deputy Head (Pastoral)

Mr K Seymour – Marketing Manager

Mrs H Ritchie BA -  Admissions Registrar

Mrs M Wade - Administrator to the DFO

Mr C Melia - Catering Manager

Support Team

Mr T Neilson, MA – Senior School Librarian/Marketing Assistant

Mrs J Bolton - Senior Administrator and PA to the Deputy Heads (Academic and Co-curriculum)

Mrs M Plant, MA Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford, (Head of Pupil Support)

Mr J Blinkhorn - Management Information Officer

Mrs C Kenyon – Receptionist

Mrs L Hilditch– Examinations Officer

Mrs D Taylor, BSc – Financial Administrator

Mrs E Longworth, BSc – Bursar’s Assistant

Mrs M Alexander – Bursar’s Assistant

Mrs S Evans – Bursar's Assistant

Mrs L Morrin – Bursar's Assistant

Mr P Edwards, BA – Theatre Manager

Mr J Papworth – Theatre Technician

Mrs J Pennington - Design Technician

Mr D Steadman – Network Manager

Mr D Jones - Senior IT Technician

Mr J Holmes - IT Technician

Mr J Handford – Facilities Manager

Mr T Johnson – Maintenance Assistant

Mr R Johnson – Maintenance Assistant

Mr R Dewsbury – Maintenance Assistant

Mr S Chappell - Maintenance Assistant

Mr B Hardy – Maintenance Assistant

Mr R Whittaker – Sports Groundsman

Mr D Hudson – Laboratory Technician

Mr M Chadwick – Laboratory Technician

Mrs C Hancock, BSc – Laboratory Technician

Mrs A Johnson – Reprographics

Mrs C O'Rourke – Care Assistant

Mrs D Jackson – Rowing Coach

Mrs C Ayress – Language Assistant

Mrs I Simon – Language Assistant

Mrs C Rose-Wardle – Language Assistant

Mrs C Beardwood BEd – School Nurse

Mrs M McCullough, BSc – School Nurse