Show/hide menu
Contact Us Rowing Club Grange Theatre School Blazer

Meet the Senior School Team

Mrs Debbie Leonard
MEd Birmingham

“It is my very great pleasure to introduce you to The Grange through our website.

I hope what you see, watch and read will communicate clearly much of the vibrant, happy and friendly atmosphere of the school.”

Deputy Head
Mr R Oakes
BA Edge Hill University


Deputy Head
Mr A Crook
MA MA.Phil Oxford


Assistant Head
Mrs P Duke
BA Liverpool


Assistant Head
Heather Eaton


Assistant Head
Sixth Form
Jamie Walker


Director of Finance and Operations
Debbie Torjussen


Mr D Kereszteny-Lewis, BA Manchester, (Director of Art and Design and Head of Art)

Miss B Picken, BA Loughborough

Mrs S Johnson, BA MMU

Miss A Brace, BA University of Bolton

Mrs C Smith, BA Nottingham Trent

Mr P McAleny, BA Sheffield, (Head of Graphic Design)

Mrs N Beardsall, BA University of Central England

Mrs V Farrell, BA Liverpool John Moores, MA Edge Hill University and Chester University

Mrs A Stewart, BA Queen Margaret (Head of Food and Nutrition)

Mrs J Breton, B.Ed Trinity College, Ireland

Mr A Masters, BA Birmingham, (Director of E-Learning and IT)

Mr R Higgins, MSc, UCL, (Head of Computer Science)


Miss J Stockton, BA Lancaster, (Head of English)

Mr H Kelly, MA Glasgow

Mrs H Chaplain, BA, MA Oxford

Mrs G Clough, MA St Andrews

Mrs M Kaipainen, MA Nipissing, Canada

Ms P McKeown, MA Sheffield

Mrs C Hughes, BA Oxford Brooks


Mr P Challinor, BA Liverpool, (Head of Classics)

Mr G Sgroi, BA Oxford University

Mr W D Morrison, BA Liverpool, (Head of Economics & Business Studies)

Mrs S Brunt, BA Sheffield University, MBA Keele University

Mr J Walker, BSc Salford

Mr J M Pearson, BA Keele, (Head of Geography)

Mrs B A Broderick, BSc Leeds (Head of Outdoor Pursuits)

Mrs H Eaton, MA Oxford,

Mr S Kenyon, BSc Hull

Mr R K Robson, BA Newcastle upon Tyne, Head of History

Mrs P Duke, BA Liverpool, (Assistant Head Co-curricular)

Mr A Crook, MA M.Phil Oxford

Mr D W Jones, MA Oxford, MA London

Miss A Barsoum, BSc Lancaster

Mrs P Allison, BA Cambridge University

Mr A Boardman, MA Durham

Mrs L Ahern, BA Leeds, MA Edge Hill, (Head of Politics)

Mrs S Hoyle, BA MMU

Miss L Davenport, MA Edinburgh

Miss L Gardiner, MA Liverpool (Head of Religious Studies and Philosophy)

Miss J Breton, BEd Trinity College, Ireland


Mrs C Hill, MSc Oxford, (Head of Mathematics)

Mr M Lambert, BSc York

Miss P Janson, MA Oxford

Mr A Lumley, BSc Leeds

Mrs C Osborne, BSc Leicester

Miss G Lewis, BSc UMIST

Mrs J Thayer, BSc Exeter, MSc Cranfield

Mrs F Livesey, BSc Bristol

Mrs M Ellis, BSc University of Sydney

Mr A Smith, BSc Salford


Mr A Milne, BSc, MSc, MI Biol, FI Biol, Manchester, (Director of Science and Head of Biology)

Mrs J Oakes, BSc Leeds

Mrs F Dunn, BSc Leeds

Miss A Jackson, BSc Manchester University, (Head of Chemistry)

Dr S Rigby, BSc, MA, PHd Queen's University Belfast

Mrs A Dostalova, BSc University of Wales

Mrs B A Broderick, BSc Leeds, (Head of Outdoor Pursuits)

Dr S Wharton, PHD, MChem Edinburgh

Mr S Petts, MA Trinity College, Oxford, (Head of Physics)

Miss M Wright, MSc, University of Western Ontario

Mrs S Thornes, BSc Leeds

Mrs H Horsley, BSc Manchester

Mrs J Masters, BSc York

Mr J Taylor, BSc Leeds


Mrs J Bloor, BA Lancaster, (Director of Performing Arts and Head of Speech & Drama)

Mrs L Sunners, BA Chester

Mrs J Hardy-Kinsella, BA Sheffield

Mrs K M Tomlin, BA Chester

Mr M Greenwood, BA, MA Durham (Director of Music)

Mr B K Madden, BA Durham

Mr P Grattage, BSc Liverpool Hope (Director of Sport)

Miss H R Lawson, BA SGIHE Cardiff, (Assistant Director of Sport)

Miss J Fowler, BSc Birmingham University

Mr N Cusick, BSc Sheffield Hallam

Mr T H Giles, BA Wales

Mr G Jump, Head of Rowing

Mr B King, Lead Rowing Coach


Mr S Howells, BA University of Durham, (Head of French)

Mrs E Moore, BA St. Johns College, Oxford

Mrs V Kereszteny-Lewis, BA St Hilda's College, Oxford, (Head of German)

Mrs H Hackett, BA London, MSc Loughborough

Ms N Benzerfa, MA Liverpool John Moores, (Head of Spanish)

Mrs K Osorio, BA Newcastle,

Mr W Bowden, BA, MA Durham


Mr A J Millinchip, MA Keble College, Oxford, FRCO (CHM), ATCL (Director of Music)

Mr B K Madden, BA Durham – Cello & Piano

Mrs B Elsby BMus MMus RNCM - Cello

Mrs A Barnett, BMus, LRAM, PGDIP(RAM) – Clarinet & Saxophone

Mrs N Boardman, GRNCM

Mrs M Bushnell-Wye, ARCM, LGSM, GRSM(Hons) Clarinet – Saxophone

Mr C Gandee, ARCM, LLCM, (TD), FFLCM – Brass

Mrs L Turner, BMus, MMus, (Perf) RNCM

Mrs S Hoffman, B Mus (Hons), PGDIP (RNCM) – Flute

Mr G Hogan, BA, LRAM, LGSM, LLCM Keyboard – Piano

Ms R Holt, GMus RNCM, PPRNCM – Flute

Mrs C Hughes, GNSM, ARCM – Piano

Mr M Jackson, Graduate Diploma in Jazz & Cont Music – Guitar

Miss P MacMillan BMus, PGDipRNCM, ALCM(TD), Percussion & Drum Kit

Mrs A Powell, BMus, PGDipRNCM, PPRNCM (Oboe)

Mr S W Watkiss, CT ABRSM – Guitar

Miss S Wilkes, G Mus RNCM (Hons) – Singing


Mrs F Dunn (Year I)

Mrs H Horsley (Year II)

Mrs H Hackett (Year III)

Mrs H Eaton (Year IV)

Mr A Lumley (Year V)

Mr J Walker Assistant Head (Sixth Form)

Mrs S Thornes (Assistant Head of Sixth Form)

Mr M Pearson (Assistant Head of Sixth Form)


Mr N Cusick (House Convener)

Mr A Boardman (Bollin House)

Mr S Kenyon (Dane House)

Mr R Robson (Gowy House)

Mr M Lambert (Weaver House)


Senior Support Team

Mrs D Torjussen- Director of Finance and Operations, BA Eng, ACA

Mrs L Foxley, BSc, ACA – Finance Bursar

Mr C Lupton - Head of Estates

Mr B Moore - Technical Manager

Mrs J Ward, BSc – PA to the Head and Deputy Head (Pastoral)

Mrs P Watson-Peck, BSc UCLAN – Marketing Manager

Mrs H Ritchie BA -  Admissions Registrar

Miss S J Ardern, CIPD - HR & Governance Administrator

Mr C Melia - Catering Manager

Mr T Neilson, MA – Senior School Librarian/Marketing Assistant

Mrs J Bolton - Senior Administrator and PA to the Deputy Heads (Academic and Co-curriculum)

Mrs M Plant, MA Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford, (Head of Pupil Support)

Mr J Blinkhorn - Management Information Officer

Mrs C Kenyon – Receptionist

Mrs M Ellis, BSc Dip. Ed Sydney – Cover Supervisor

Mrs L Hilditch– Examinations Officer

Mrs D Taylor, BSc – Financial Administrator

Mrs E Longworth, BSc – Bursar’s Assistant

Mrs M Alexander – Bursar’s Assistant

Mrs S Lewis – Bursar's Assistant

Mrs L Morrin – Bursar's Assistant

Mr P Edwards, BA – Theatre Manager

Mr J Papworth – Theatre Technician

Mrs J Pennington - Design Technician

Mr D Steadman – Network Manager

Mr D Jones - Senior IT Technician

Mr J Holmes - IT Technician

Mr J Handford – Facilities Manager

Mr T Johnson – Maintenance Assistant

Mr R Johnson – Maintenance Assistant

Mr R Dewsbury – Maintenance Assistant

Mr S Chappell - Maintenance Assistant

Mr B Hardy – Maintenance Assistant

Mr R Whittaker – Sports Groundsman

Mr D Hudson – Laboratory Technician

Mr M Chadwick – Laboratory Technician

Mrs C Hancock, BSc – Laboratory Technician

Mrs A Johnson – Reprographics

Mrs C O'Rourke – Care Assistant

Mrs D Jackson – Rowing Coach

Mrs C Ayress – Language Assistant

Mrs I Simon – Language Assistant

Mrs C Rose-Wardle – Language Assistant

Mrs C Beardwood BEd – School Nurse

Mrs M McCullough, BSc – School Nurse